With less than a week to go until the Toronto International Film Festival, it’s all systems go at CultCrack towers, while I try to wrangle a viewing schedule that is sitting somewhere at the eleventy-stupid films a day mark. I’ve had a sneak peek at some of what the festival has to offer, and there are some really exciting releases coming out of the festival this year, though my lips are sealed for now.

Meanwhile, my review of the Criterion Collection’s new release of Stanley Kramer’s It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World will be up next week at CineVue. And as I might not have time to do a Friday update next week, you can find my review of the new DVD release of last year’s acclaimed Suntan, also at CineVue, from 11 September.

Also out that week on Wednesday 13 September will be my piece on Roger Corman’s fantastically kitsch 1960 adaptation of Edgar Allen Poe’s ‘The Fall of the House of Usher’. The article is part of a monthly series on short story adaptations that I write for Thresholds, a wonderful forum dedicated to discussing short stories and showcasing new talent.

I’ll leave you with one of my favourite clips from Corman’s House of Usher, and I’ll see you on the other side.

