What a week! With the Toronto Film Festival schedule finally published and the help of the unofficial TIFF Planner (Festival-goers take note: this thing is a God send – the polar opposite of the impenetrable official site), I’ve got around 50 films lined up over ten days. Will I have the stamina to see everything? We’ll see, but highlights like Yorgos Lanthimos’ The Killing of a Sacred Deer, S. Craig Zahler’s Brawl in Cell Block 99, and Louis CK’s debut feature, I Love You, Daddy are unmissable.

But all this TIFF excitement hasn’t meant I’ve been neglecting my regular reviewing duties, either. The Criterion release of Peter Brooks’ enduring adaptation of Lord of the Flies is out on Monday, and you’ll find my review right here.

On 1st September, Benedict Andrews’ debut feature Una is released in cinemas, a harrowing story of a woman confronting the man who sexually abused her when she was a child. Una has proved to be quite divisive among critics – check back here to find out what I thought.

